Sun. Jun 16th, 2019



Andaman_and_Nicobar_Police_LogoAndaman and Nicobar is one of the seven union Territories of India, it is a group of islands with at the juncture of Bay of Bengal and Andaman Sea.  Andaman’s capital is Port Blair, the total land area of these islands is approximately 8,249 km. There are three districts, North, Middle and South Andaman.

Rajesh Malik, IPS, is the Director General of Police, Andaman and Nicobar Island.            

 Police History

History of Andaman and Nicobar Police dates back to raising of ‘SEBUNDY CORPS’ in 1858 for protection of Penal Settlements in the Andamans. It was reconstituted in 1867 with strength of 2 Inspectors, 3 Head Constables, 12 Sergeants and 285 Constables.

The system of Policing was exclusively on the pattern of Military organization, with a small strength of 75 Civil Policemen for observance of local   laws   and for accompanying the prisoners to the jungle as guards against aboriginal tribes.

An organized form of Policing in Andaman and Nicobar Islands was established in August, 1875 with the extension of Indian Police Act of 1861 to Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Capt. Wimberly was appointed as first District Superintendent of Police. In the same year the Chief Commissioner of Andaman and Nicobar was vested with the powers and functions of the Inspector General of Police.

The post of Chief of Police was upgraded as Director General of Police in the year 2007. Presently Andaman and Nicobar Police has a strength of 5008 including India Reserve Battalion under the command of the Director General of Police assisted by 1 IGPs, 1 DIGP, 1 Commandant IRBn,  5 SPs,  17 DySPs.