Himachal Pradesh, literally “Snow-laden Province”), is a state in North India. Its area is 55,673 km2 (21,495 sq mi), and is bordered by Jammu and Kashmir on the north, Punjab on the west, Haryana on the south-west, Uttarakhand on the south-east and by the Tibet Autonomous Region on the east.

Hima means snow in Sanskrit, and the literal meaning of the state’s name is in the lap of the Himalayas. It was named by Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma, one of the most eminent Sanskrit scholars of Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh is famous for its Himalayan landscapes, hill stations and temples.Himachal Pradesh has been ranked fifteenth in the list of the highest per capita incomes of Indian states and union territories for year 2013-14.There are many perennial rivers flowing in the state with hydroelectric projects set up.

Himachal owing to its great hydroelectric potential produces surplus hydroelectricity and even sells it to other states such as Delhi, Punjab, and Rajasthan.Hydroelectric power projects, tourism, and agriculture form an important part of the state’s economy.

There are several valleys in the state with more than 90% of the population living in rural areas. However, 100% hygiene has been achieved in the state and practically all houses have a toilet. Shimla district has maximum urban population of 25%. Successfully imposed environmental protection and tourism development with ban on the use of polyethylene and tobacco products by the government has led to a boost in tourism According to a 2005 Transparency International survey, Himachal Pradesh is ranked the second-least corrupt state in the country after Kerala.


Himachal Pradesh as political entity came into existence on 15th April, 1948. It was constituted by integrating the princely States of Chamba, Mandi, Suket, Sirmaur and 26 smaller states known as the Punjab Hill States. Subsequently, in 1954 Bilaspur, which was then a part “C” State, was also merged with Himachal Pradesh. In 1960 District Kinnaur was carved out of District Mahsu which was earlier constituted by merging 27 hill states.

In 1948, states like Mandi, Chamba, Sirmaur, Suket and Bilaspur had their regular Police forces. Other smaller states had a common Police Force. The Police Administration in the State was headed by an Inspector General of Police, (IGP), who was also Inspector General of Police for Union Territories of Delhi and Ajmer.

Sh. S.R. Chaudhary IP, was the first IGP. In the year 1988, the State Forensic Science Laboratory was established at Shimla. Presently there are 114 Police Stations in the State including 12 PSs of SVACB, 2 PSs of TTR and 1 PS of CID. 112 Police Posts located in the 12 Districts and 1 Police District Baddi of the State. The present strength of Himachal Pradesh Police includes 89 IPS officers, 169 State Police Services officers, 2051 NGOs grade-I, and 14794 NGOs grade-II.

Sanjay Kumar IPS, is the present Director General of Police (DGP), of Himachal Pradesh.