Wed. Jul 17th, 2019



karnataka-logoKarnataka is a state in southwest India with Arabian Sea coastlines. The capital, Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore), is a high-tech hub known for its shopping and nightlife. To the southwest, Mysore is home to lavish temples including Mysore Palace, former seat of the region’s maharajas. Hampi, once the medieval Vijayanagara empire’s capital, contains ruins of Hindu temples, elephant stables and a stone chariot. Karnataka is spread across 191, 791 kilo meters, capital is Bengaluru, population is 64.06 million (2014). Om Prakash IPS, is the present Director General and Inspector General of Police, Karnataka.

Police History

Police in Karnataka were called by various names in different regions. After initiation of policing, they were initially called Thoti, Umbalidhar, Kattubidi, Neeraganti etc.. The police primarily with policing used to do other jobs entrusted to them. The foundation of present police system was laid after the appointment of state’s first IGP. Today the state police has grown into a big and complex organization running on modern management principles.

The new state of Karnataka had five different police systems, Acts, Rules, Manuals and even uniforms when it was formed. In all these spheres uniformity was brought and by 1965 the entire force was reorganized. The state enacted The Police Act in 1963 and brought in to force from with effect from 1965. The City of Bangalore has a Police Commissioner as head of the city police. There is a water front police for Uttara Kannada (North Canara), district for patrolling through motor launches.