UNION TERRITORY of LAKSHADWEEP is a tropical archipelago of 36 islands and coral reefs in the Laccadive Sea, off the coast of Kerala, India.

Not all of the islands are inhabited, and only a few are open to visitors (permits required). With coconut trees, secluded beaches, lagoons and coral reefs, the islands are known for their scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking and fishing. Its spread across 32 kilo meters with a population of 64,429 (2011). Shri Vijay Kumar is the Administrator of Union Territory of Lakshadweep.

Police history

Policing in the islands began in 1958 by the establishment of the first Police stations at Minicoy.  The staff posted therein consisted of a strength of one S.I., 2 HCs and 5 Constables who were deputationists and ex-servicemen from mainland.  The second Police station came into being at Androth during the same year.

Police stations in other inhabited islands were established in 1960’s.  The outpost at  Bitra  under Chetlath Police Station and the aid post at Bangaram under Agatti Police Station respectively started functioning during the year 1991(Details shown in CrPC and IPC were extended to this Union Territory with effect from 1.11.67.  From 1956 till 1.11.1967, the local Amins were functioning at 3rd Class Magistrates and discharging Police duties in their respective islands.  Other Acts were extended subsequently.

A Vigilance and anticorruption unit is also functioning here under the supervision of Vigilance Officer at Secretariat.  Two companies of MPSAF which were stationed in the islands since 1974 has been replaced by the India Reserve Battalion raised for Lakshadweep.  Daman & Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli since January 2001 headed by the Commandant at H.Q.Kavaratti.

Lakshadweep Police is under the command and control of Administrator in his capacity as Inspector General of Lakshadweep Police. The Lakshadweep Police has sanctioned strength of 349 personnel for’ 9 Police Stations, 2 Police Out Posts and 1 Police Aid Post. Superintendent of Police is the head of the force. For maintenance of law and order in addition to Police force, Union Government have raised a company of India Reserve Battalion exclusively for Lakshadweep, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. 355 personnel of IRB are stationed in various islands of Lakshadweep. Lakshadweep Marine Police and Lakshadweep Home Guards have also been raised in the recent years to further strengthen the law and order machinery. Naval Detachment & Coast Guard Units are set up in Kavaratti. A Naval Detachment is functioning in Minicoy island also.

The officers and men of the force have been imparted training in various subjects including modern techniques in investigation and computer training.  SCRB / DCRB is functioning at PHQ. The Deputy Superintendent of Police is the Drawing and Disbursing Officer for the entire police force and fire force spread in the islands.  He is assisted by the accounts and establishment sections.