applogo-newArunachal Pradesh is situated in the north eastern part of India and is spread across 83, 743 Square Kilo Metres in area. AP shares a long border with Bhutan to the West, 160 (KM), China to the North and North East with (1,080KM) and Myanmar to the East (440 KM).

Arunachal Pradesh became a full-fledged state on 20 February, 1987. Till 1972 it was known as known as North East Frontier Agency (NEFA). Administratively the state is divided in to 16 districts, with capital Itanagar, in papum pare district.

Police Service

Arunachal Pradesh Police remains one of the youngest police services of the country. There are several historical factors for this delayed constitution of the force. Being an integral arm of the law & order administration in the state, it had to follow the prevailing norms, which in the shape of customary laws, were very rightly, given a position of preeminence. Mr. S Nithianandam, IPS, is the Director General of Police (DGP) of Arunachal Pradesh.


Prior to the independence of the country, the British had introduced the Assam Frontier (Administration of Justice) Regulation, 1945, so as to ensure that a vast majority of disputes and cases, both civil and criminal, were adjudicated in accordance with the prevailing traditional codes of the tribal communities.

Present Police

At present there are 3 Ranges, 22 Police districts, 102 notified Police Stations (out of which presently, 71 Police Stations are functioning), 20 Out Posts and 25 Check Gates, 2 AAP Bns and 5 India Reserve (IR) Bns. The total strength of Arunachal Pradesh Police is 12024.

Share the News on