mizoram-policeMizoram is one of the states of Northeast India, with Aizawl as its capital city. The name is derived from Mi, Zo and Ram, and thus Mizoram implies “land of the hill people”. Mizoram is spread across 21,081 KM, founded on February 19, 1987. Capital is Aizawl, population 1.116 Million (2014).

Mizoram Police Background  

THIANGHLIMA PACHUAU, IPS, is the present Director General of Police, DGP, Mizoram. The Mizoram Police Force is the law enforcing agency of the state of Mizoram, India.

The administrative control of Mizoram Police vests with the Home Minister of Mizoram who holds the portfolio of Home Minister. The supervision and coordination of Police is done by the Home Department, Govt. of Mizoram. The force is headed by Mr. Thianghlima Pachuau, IPS who is currently the acting Director General of Police (DGP). For administrative purposes, Mizoram is divided into Eight Districts, Each District is headed by one Superintendent of Police (SP).

Mizoram Police Radio Organization (MPRO) came into existence in 1972 when Mizoram became an U.T from the Lushai Hills District of the then Assam State. Initially there were seven PR stations functioning at that time and they were :- 1). Aizawl. 2). Lunglei. 3). Saiha. 4). Tlabung 5). Kolasib.  6). Serchhip.  7). Champhai.

The administration of the organization was looked after by S.P (Hqrs) from PHQ, Mizoram and the permanent S.P (Wrls.) was posted w.e.f 19.4.75 till today. From the initial staff strength of around 100 personnel, the organization has increased its activities throughout the state and now the total of staff strength is 747 and has about 85 PR Stations.

Share the News on